Measuring Hz with Uno and activating relay/LED

New to Arduino, not so much electronics, but the C++ programming is a major barrier for me. I'm more experienced with web language, but catch on pretty quickly to new things :wink:

Looking for some help/guidance for a project I'd like to tackle with my new Uno (besides changing the duration of the Blink program, haha!)

I'm wanting to sample frequency from an AC source (Through a resistor, cap and optoisolator such as the 4N25) and then monitor that reading internally to the Uno. When the reading drops below a certain threshold, I'd like to trigger a relay to open for a duration of time and possibly incorporate some LED diagnostics along with it to ascertain what the program is currently doing in its cycle... I realize that this is not complete noob territory, but wanted to start out with a challenge and learn along the way!

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction or offer a starting place for me. This thing is just blinking at me and begging to be turned into something... :o

Thanks to anyone willing to get involved!

Is your threshold amplitude (fairly easy) or are you actually thinking of measuring frequency and talking about a frequency threshold e.g. less than 100Hz (more difficult)?

Is your “AC source” sine wave, pulses or complex wave (like audio signals)?

Steve

slipstick:
Is your threshold amplitude (fairly easy) or are you actually thinking of measuring frequency and talking about a frequency threshold e.g. less than 100Hz (more difficult)?

Is your "AC source" sine wave, pulses or complex wave (like audio signals)?

Steve

Thanks Steve!

Sorry, I should have been more specific...