Measuring the intensity of fog using a light source, pixy cam, Arduino

Hi guys, this is my first time in this forum. I'm currently working on a project to dissipate fog; in this project, I'm looking for a method on how I can "measure" how thick or dense the fog is. For that, the idea I came up with that fits my setup, is to use a camera and focus it on a single light source and measure its intensity. So for example, if there is no fog at all, the intensity would bee 100%, and as fog forms, the intensity of the light (read by the camera) would decrease further and further as the fog thickens.
I need to be able to do this even if I have other light sources around, the camera must focus on one and only one light source (LED maybe), and give me the intensity in %. Any idea on how I can accomplish this? I'm currently looking into the Pixycam, but I'm unsure how it can be done. Can someone guide me on this please. Thanks

Pixy is optimised to recognise objects; I can't think why you would consider it for this application.

I've never tried such a thing, but I imagine you'd be looking for a sensor with a much larger dynamic range than a simple camera, say in the range 12 to 16 bits.

You probably would also want a beam splitter and reflector arrangement, so that you can continuously measure the source intensity, so that you can null-out source fluctuations

Most people use light scattering to measure the density of small particles in air.

A light beam (from a laser diode) passes through the sample in an otherwise light tight chamber, and the intensity of light scattered at right angles to the beam is measured with a photodiode.

Hi, thanks for the reply.