Mega 2560 runs stepper while uno runs HC-SR04 ultrasonic senor until condition

Hey everyone,
I’m new to the arduino forums but relatively experienced with arduino. I haven’t ever asked a question in the forums because I hate bothering people with a question that I can figure out myself or has already been answered. This time I’ve hit a wall and I can’t seem to solve this problem on my own with research. This might be trivial and I might be just over looking something…

I’m trying to get my master mega to run a stepper motor while through I2C its slave an Uno controls an ultrasonic sensor, then when a condition is met with the ultrasonic sensor on the Uno it would let the master know, which the master would then know to stop the stepper motor and continue on to the next program.

What I have been able to accomplish is get the master to run the stepper and I’ve gotten the ultrasonic sensor to activate on the salve, but I don’t know how to make it pulse continually in the receiveEvent on the Slave until a condition is met.

Also I do realize that the Mega is completely capable of running several sensors and motors, for my project it has to be simultaneous and the pulses being fit in between steps slows the motor down way too much. So i figured have a slave run the processing for the sensor while the master continues the stepper movement. thank you for any help.

Master code

//Master Code
#include <Wire.h>
#include<AccelStepper.h>
// the stepper that the master will run while the slave controls the ultrasonic sensor
AccelStepper stepper1(AccelStepper::DRIVER, 9, 8);

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.begin(9600);
Wire.begin();
delay(100);
Wire.beginTransmission(5);//slave is at address (5)
Wire.write('H');//tells slave to start pinging the sensor
Wire.endTransmission();
}

void loop() {
  // put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

stepper1.setMaxSpeed(2400.0);// stepper starts moving while slave is pinging