MENWIZ: how do I relocate nav buttons to I2C port expander

I am planning to add menus to my project but am running out of I/O pins. As LCD is already on I2C bus, I am adding another 8574 port expander and moving navigation buttons to it.

I am new to C++ so please bear with me. For tests, I loaded MENWIZ quick_tour sketch as is and it runs fine with default button pins.
Next, I redefined pin numbers to reflect the expander I/O pin range (i.e. 0 … 7), set the expander’s I2C address (0x26) and, using included I2CIO library, created ‘remIO’ object of I2CIO class.
Using I2CIO class methods, I initialised the ‘remIO’ with expander’s address and, reading the status of an expander pin, turned on arduino LED (pin 13) while the pushbutton connected to the pin is depressed. This worked as designed and confirms the hardware is functional. Here are relevant parts of the modified code (with the actual quick_tour sketch code removed for clarity).

//The full code is in library example file Quick_tour.ino
#include <Wire.h>
#include <LCD.h>
#include <LiquidCrystal_I2C.h>
#include <buttons.h>
#include <MENWIZ.h>
#include <EEPROM.h>

// DEFINE PORT EXPANDER PINS FOR NAVIGATION BUTTONS
#define UP_BUTTON_PIN       2
#define DOWN_BUTTON_PIN     3
#define LEFT_BUTTON_PIN     4 
#define RIGHT_BUTTON_PIN    5
#define CONFIRM_BUTTON_PIN  6
#define ESCAPE_BUTTON_PIN   7

// create port expander obj using I2CIO lib
I2CIO remIO;
byte IOaddr = 0x26; // port expander's hardware I2C address

void setup(){
  remIO.begin(IOaddr); // initialize remIO port expander at IOaddr
  remIO.portMode(INPUT);  // set all pins as inputs
}

void loop(){
// turn ON on-board LED while 'right' button pressed 
// read using I2CIO method and write using arduino method
  (remIO.digitalRead(RIGHT_BUTTON_PIN))?digitalWrite(13,LOW):digitalWrite(13,HIGH); 
  }