MHZ-14A NDIR CO2 Sensor

Hi. I recently purchased MHZ-14A NDIR CO2 Sensor. I try to test it with code and connection from this website http://domoticx.com/arduino-co2-sensor-mh-z14/. However, I only managed to get 0 PPM reading when I try it with UART connection. I’m using Arduino Mega as the microcontroller. Can anyone tell me whether there is anything that I missed out? This is my first time using this sensor.

I try to test it with code and connection from this website http://domoticx.com/arduino-co2-sensor-mh-z14/.

There are several methods on this page and the first one is even faulty. Post a wiring diagram of your setup and the code you’re actually using! Don’t forget the code tags, that’s the </> button in the editor!

Attached pic is the connection that I have use. The following is the coding that I have use.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial SerialCom (A1,A0);
int myDelay = 2000;

byte addArray[] = { 0XFF, 0x86, 0x02, 0x60, 0x47, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0xD1 };

char dataValue[9];
String dataString = "";

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
  SerialCom.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("MH-Z14 C02 Sensor Test Code");
  Serial.println("------------------------------------");
}

void loop() {
  SerialCom.write(addArray, 9);
  SerialCom.readBytes(dataValue, 9);
  int resHigh = (int) dataValue[2];
  int resLow  = (int) dataValue[3];
  int pulse = (256*resHigh)+resLow;
  dataString = String(pulse);
  Serial.print("PPM: ");
  Serial.println(pulse);
  delay(myDelay);
}

I’m using Arduino Mega as the microcontroller.

The picture doesn’t show a Mega, that looks more like a Nano.

#include <SoftwareSerial.h>
SoftwareSerial SerialCom (A1,A0);

If you use a Mega it’s quite stupid to use that crippled SoftwareSerial if you have 3 spare hardware serial interfaces.