Micro linear servo trouble...

Hello all :slight_smile:
I bought micro linear servo for my new project. (info)
Now I am bit confused by its behavior. I tried example sketches knob and sweep and works ok.
Then I tried my very simple sketch and it does nothing. :frowning:
I tried same things with SG90 and it works ok with all three sketches.

My setup: Arduino nano, Servo (5V, GND D9), Button (GND, D7)
My simple sketch:

#include <Servo.h>
Servo myservo; 
void setup() {
  myservo.attach(9);  
  pinMode(7,INPUT);
}
void loop() {
  if(digitalRead(7)==LOW){
     myservo.write(0);
  }  
  else{
     myservo.write(180);
  }
}

Could anybody help me please? Im total newbie, so I will try to follow :slight_smile:

WE can't see the sketches that work, so tell us what is the difference between the ones that work and the one you wrote.
Paul

Have you got a pull-up resistor on the switch? Add one or just change the pinMode to INPUT_PULLUP.

Steve

Paul_KD7HB:
WE can’t see the sketches that work, so tell us what is the difference between the ones that work and the one you wrote.
Paul

Sorry those sketches are included in Arduino IDE installation in examples.
Knob:

/*
 Controlling a servo position using a potentiometer (variable resistor)
 by Michal Rinott <http://people.interaction-ivrea.it/m.rinott>

modified on 8 Nov 2013
 by Scott Fitzgerald
 http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Knob
*/

#include <Servo.h>

Servo myservo;  // create servo object to control a servo

int potpin = 0;  // analog pin used to connect the potentiometer
int val;    // variable to read the value from the analog pin

void setup() {
  myservo.attach(9);  // attaches the servo on pin 9 to the servo object
}

void loop() {
  val = analogRead(potpin);            // reads the value of the potentiometer (value between 0 and 1023)
  val = map(val, 0, 1023, 0, 180);     // scale it to use it with the servo (value between 0 and 180)