Middle school student - Needs a mentor

Hi,

I would like to build a school project to sense Volatile organic compounds.
I would like to use arduino uno board and a volatile organic gas sensor.
Where and how do I begin?

I have never built anything before. This is my first. I would be much obliged if an experienced guru can be my mentor.
Thanks
shri

Umm, I would suggest starting with something a lot simpler before you tackle your chemistry problem.

And volatile organic compounds is quite quite a range of things. Please be specific what compounds you need to recognize (i.e. different sensors may be needed for instance).

Given the word 'volatile', I would imagine given you are not an adult, you would need to get the approval of parents (if doing it at home) or your chemistry teacher (if at school) before venturing into this.

The below sensors might be of use, the methane one might be interesting.

https://www.sparkfun.com/search/results?term=gas&what=products

Do you have an arduino yet? Which one?
How do you plan to display the results of your input?
Have you downloaded the IDE, and examples? Have you reviewed the examples or actually loaded them to the arduino?
How long do you have to complete this project?
Do you have access to funds to purchase the needed parts?

shri:
Where and how do I begin?