Midi/Arduino controller?

Hi all. I am very new to Arduino and am attempting to make a MIDI controller that works with a microphone for my band. I think I've been posting this in the wrong forum as this seems to be the one I'm looking for. I apologize. I am very new here.

I've taken to Arduino pretty well and have everything wired up right, it's the code that is killing me as I never really have messed with code before. And MIDI language on top of that has been tough to decipher. I have most of the code cracked as it's playing notes right now. But I don't really want it to play notes, just to load a .vst effect on a button press.

The controller has 3 buttons ( 2 will produce a .vst plugin effect and 1 is to turn it off) and one force sensor which will bend the pitch depending on how hard it is pressed. I am using a demo of Energy XT2 as the MIDI software.

I have the buttons/sensor playing random notes right now but don't really understand how to assign a .vst plugin to be triggered on a button press. Any MIDI wizards out there that can help a MIDI/Arduino beginner? The code I'm using is below. It currently plays C, D, E, F notes on press. Any help would be very much appreciated. Thanks!

// define the pins int switchPin1 = 4; int switchPin2 = 3; int switchPin3 = 2; int switchPin4 = 0;

// general midi notes char note1 = 60; //Middle C char note2 = 62; //D char note3 = 64; //E char note4 = 65; //F

// Variables int switchState1 = LOW; int switchState2 = LOW; int switchState3 = LOW; int switchState4 = LOW;

int currentSwitchState1 = LOW; int currentSwitchState2 = LOW; int currentSwitchState3 = LOW; int currentSwitchState4 = LOW;

void setup() {

// set the states of the I/O pins: pinMode(switchPin1, INPUT); pinMode(switchPin2, INPUT); pinMode(switchPin3, INPUT); pinMode(switchPin4, INPUT);

// set MIDI baud rate : Serial.begin(31250);

}

void loop() {