Midi console (is it feasible)

Hello everyone,

I've never used arduino / development boards, i'm not a programmer didn't work much with electronics ( i used to solder/desolder components on electronic boards at my last job, check polarity, orientation and other things.However, i'm a fast learner, do understand how electronics work, etc.

I'm having a dream about building my own midi console (midi controller) to use it with a specific daw ,because i cannot find what i want.

It's a 16 Channel console with :

• 416 Pots
  • 288 LED buttons
  • 80 buttons (no light)
  • 48 leds
  • 32 faders

But, there's a but, but first i wanna build only one channel strip.Now, this channel strip has:

• 26 pots
  • 3 leds
  • 16 led buttons
  • 2 faders
  • 5 buttons

I did some research on the internet and i've found out that arduino mega 2560 has the most I/O and if i want more, i gotta use additional hardware or build my own custom pcb and i don't have the skills, tools and knowledge to make one.

But, after my calculations one board is not enough. I read about multiplexers and it scares me a lil bit lol.
For a newbie like me, sounds like that will complicate things.

Is this project possible (one channel strip) with one arduino mega 2560 and other things that would expand the I/O?

Is there anyone here that builds custom pcb's that could help me or knows a company that would do it?

I've attached a picture with what i dream about.

Thank you everyone , really, every answer helps :slight_smile:

p.s

I know about doepfer usb64 and OpenDeck, buying boards needed for this project would get really really expensive.

The biggest issue is the 26 pots and 2 faders. These require analog input so you need 28 analog inputs. The Mega only has 16. The external hardware is either several 16 channel analog to digital converters or several 16 channel MUX chips. Either solution will enable to to read all the analog inputs.