MIDI Controlled Bells

Hi All

I have never used Arduino before but based on the research I have done for my project, it is what I need to be using.

I have a set of nine tuned bells, each with a solenoid which activates a wooden clapper. I want to adapt these so that I can plug them into my computer as a MIDI instrument, ie so I can send MIDI messages from my computer to play the bells. I also intend on connecting my MIDI piano to my computer, then through to the bells.

I have no idea where to start, and am uncertain whether this is a project I can manage. In light of this, I have a few questions;

1. Would you recommend a complete beginner attempt such a project?
  2. Is the the place where I might be able to find step-by-step support from the community?
  3. Where do I start? What do I need? (I have a Macbook Pro, MIDI Piano, nine wired bells)

Your support is appreciated

DT

In your shoes I would be getting one bell to dong under program control (eg. once every 5 seconds). To do that I guess you will need some sort of driver transistor to amplify the Arduino output pin enough to drive the solenoid. Once one is working, get all 9 to work. Then reading the MIDI input should be fairly simple. :slight_smile:

You will need at least the following:

• Arduino board
  • Midi interface like this one: https://www.sparkfun.com/products/9598.
  • solenoid drivers. ULN2xxx can provide up to 500mA/outputand are quite inexpensive. They have built in diodes as well.
  • Power supply(s) you can use one common supply for both the arduine and the solenoids but i recommend two separate
  • If you want to turn the project into a standalone midi instrument later, there should be som HMI, Dont focus on that, but have it in mind when planning for pin assignment etc.