MIDI controller to Arduino to Relays Help

Hello, I sure could use a helping hand. Arduino code is Greek to me and although I’ve managed to decipher some things I’m still far from where I need to be.

Here’s my project in a nutshell… I’m in a band and my drummer triggers sound effects at various times through an Alesis Samplepad which has four drum pads on it and a MIDI out port. I want a stage prop to be actuated in sync with the sound effect.

The prop is a cannon equipped with a bright light and a fog machine to simulate a cannon shot. I have a grip on the 120v side of things but where I need help is in controlling the relays the way I need to.

I’ve gotten pretty far along but I still need a little help. Here’s my current status…. I have a MIDI shield, an Arduino Uno and an eight channel relay board. (see links below) This is my first attempt at any sort of Arduino project so keep in mind that I’m pretty new to this and I’ve been trying to feel my way through it. In hindsight I should have just built the MIDI input circuit because at this point I’m not able to plug the MIDI shield into the Arduino anyway but I’ve managed to make it work

I’ve done a lot of experimenting and trial and error and I’ve managed to get everything communicating somewhat. I’m currently using a sketch someone wrote to control a homemade MIDI Glockenspiel.

MIDI Glockenspiel Sketch

Video of someone using this sketch as I did with the keyboard.

Initially I used a MIDI keybord as a controller instead of the Alesis Samplepad and eventually I got it all working as well as possible with the sketch I’m using. With the keyboard I’m able to hit the white keys C5 through C6 and trigger each of the eight relays. I know that’s a lot of detail but I want you to know that my setup is working the way it should with regards to the sketch I’m using and that everything is connected properly.