MIDI Counter Clock with LCD Display

So I am in an electronic band, and I am trying to put together a piece of hardware to display some MIDI data, and would like to get some advice on some things. I am a beginner with Arduino, but have plenty of experience working with code and IDE's.

The goal of this project is to build a MIDI Counter, which if you are unfamiliar with MIDI data and electronic music, is a way to display the current BPM (beats per minute) of a track. In other words, when recording music you usually use a click track to keep musicians in time with the tracks tempo. The click track is usually heard through a pair of headphones and acts no differently than a metronome you see on top of pianos when practicing. What I am trying to build is a visual display of that click track.

I plan on building a wooden box about 12'' wide, 10'' high, and lets say 6'' deep to house the LCD screen, Arduino, and all the other components needed. The MIDI data will be sent via USB from my computer, and the screen needs to display this Data with next to zero latency. The device will have to be recognized by my computer as a USB MIDI device as well.

What kind of Arduino board do I need for this? And what kind of LCD Screen do I need for this? I understand the basics of how to go about this project, but the key to this project being successful is solving any latency issues I might have between my computer, the Arduino, and the LCD Screen. I need a screen and processor which will display the data as fast as possible, with next to zero latency.

I would appreciate any suggestions on how I should go about this project of mine!

PS. There might something already out there that does this in the form of an iPad app or hardware , but I don't care. I want to build it myself!