Midi In note duration

Hey guys,

I am not a coder, I’m a solder slinger. But I’m trying to modifiy Kuki’s midi in code in order to produce triggers for a TR-606 drum machine.

I’ve successfully wired up everything (optocoupler, PCB points, etc.), so it is working properly. I get triggers for each instrument, and the common trigger (accent note) is permanently wired to a voltage source. The issue is that with the note on and note off messages, the trigger is at the beginning of the midi note/press and also at the end/release (note on - note off). The only kludge is to write in a 1/32nd or 1/64th note in midi, and even then it still doesn’t sound right.

I tried using the Delay function with a LOW write immediately after, but that interferes with the Serial.read function and it doesn’t work. From reading similar posts, it looks like I may be able to use the Millis() function in conjunction with an array for all the separate triggers, but I don’t know how to implement that properly. My coding skills suck. If anyone has any elegant/simplistic solutions, that would be extremely helpful. All the notes need the same duration, so that may help.

/* Midi In Basic  0.2 // kuki 8.2007
 * -----------------
 * listen for midi serial data, and light leds for individual notes

IMPORTANT:
 your arduino might not start if it receives data directly after a reset, because the bootloader thinks you want to uplad a new progam.
 you might need to unplug the midi-hardware until the board is running your program. that is when that statusLed turns on.

#####################################################################################################################################################
SOMETHING ABOUT MIDI MESSAGES
 midi messages start with one status byte followed by 1 _or_ 2 data bytes, depending on the command

example midi message: 144-36-100
   the status byte "144" tells us what to do. "144" means "note on".