MIDI Interface programming

Hi there!

I'm brand new to the world of Arduino (so forgive my basic questions) but I am quickly becoming obsessed with the process of programming micro-controllers.

My latest project is to take the output of a Parallax "Ping)))" and send it to an LED array, and a USB/MIDI interface so that it can control music and light at the same time.

I have the LED array working, but getting the USB/MIDI interface system to work is proving harder than expected.

After reading a great post on the subject (http://shiftmore.blogspot.com/2010/01/quick-and-dirty-arduino-midi-over-usb.html)

I realized that I had a spare "M-Audio Uno" lying around... I broke it open, and started tinkering

So far It turns on, and is recognized by the computer. But the M-Audio is not the interface used in the aforementioned article, I have been perplexed trying to find ways of communicating the simple MIDI messages from the Arduino to the interface mainly because I don't know what the specific connections are.

The interface itself simply lists the different wires by color rather than function and as far as the MIDI end the colors don't even match the cable.

Here comes the dumb question.

I've been looking, and will continue to look. but is there a way to test the six MIDI terminals (minus the shield) with the Arduino to try and get some response from the M-Audio Interface?

I'd really appreciate some help with this... Even some suggestions on better ways to ask for help on the forum.

Thanks - IMUR

I realized that I had a spare "M-Audio Uno" lying around.

What is an M-Audio Uno can you provide a link?

the M-Audio is not the interface used in the aforementioned article

So what makes you think the same technique will work with it?

http://www.m-audio.com/products/en_us/Uno.html