MIDI over USB with Arduino UNO MIDI_controller Library

( Arduino UNO - Windows 7 )

Hi,

Can anybody help? I am also very new to this.

My main issue at the moment seems to be that (as far as I know) I have followed the steps to;

+Installed the MIDI_controller library

+Installed the PJRC Encoder library

+Installed latest Java Runtime Environment

+Installed Atmel Flip

+Arduino Uno or Mega
"Open one of the example sketches*, connect your Arduino, select the right port from the Tools
menu, and hit upload. When the upload is complete, take a ballpoint pen (or anything
conductive) and reset the ATmega16U2 by connecting the reset pin of the 6-pin ISP header
(next to the USB connector) to ground"

*I used the example Blink sketch that comes with Arduino IDE to keep it simple and easy (if
this matters at all? Or do you mean I should have used one of the example sketches of
the MIDI_controller library?)

+I touched the 2 pins with a jumper wire, and an LED on the UNO flashed several times (i
know, not related to the sketch i used) , so
something happened here, i think it reset
successfully

+In device manager i updated/changed/installed the driver to C:\Program Files\Atmel\Flip 3.4.7\usb

FROM THE GUIDE: ("You should get a notification that Windows has successfully updated the driver software for AT90USB162

But

I do not recall seeing the AT90USB162
number at this stage, but the install seemed to be successful anyway (or does this mean it is not?).

At this stage I remember that the Arduino UNO no longer showed up in device manager as COM5 under Ports (COM & LTP), nor did it have the COM 5 option in the Arduino IDE port drop down list.

+Download the ATmega16U2 firmware:

+I downloaded the Arduino-usbserial-atmega16u2-Uno-Rev3.hex

+I downloaded Dimitri Diakopoulos's HIDUINO firmware from his GitHub page: arduino_midi.hex

Then I follow the rest of the steps which are as follows;

"Flash the MIDI firmware:

1.Open the Flip software.