Midify a vitage synth

Hello everyone !
I am coming here to get some help because I have a project that I would like to do and that I am surprised to find no real equivalent on the forums, and yet could certainly be usefull to other people. Most of the projects I have found about Midi protocol are about building a controller, or controling an arduino synth. I'm looking for the opposite, to control an existing machine using Midi protocol, like midification kit for 80s synths. I can deal with electronic, but I'm quite new to arduino. So I come to ask for advices.

Here is the project, I have an 80s synth, a Siel PX JR, i realy like it's sound, and I have already tweaked it to add some possibilities to it. But this model does not have Midi IN protocol, and I would like to add this capability, among other things because the keyboard is quite unpleasant to play.

The note triggering system is quite original, but not unique either I think. There are two metal bars with a small spring stuck between the two (I put pictures attached to help understanding), when you press a key the spring leaves one of the bars to go and touch the other, the flight time between the two bars defines the velocity. Rather simple.

I immediately thought of a system of transistors to close and then open the circuit according to the velocity send by Midi, with an arduino to drive everything. Quite a lot of wiring to do but not impossible either, I like challenges! I found the "Midi glockenspiel" project which in principle corresponds to what I am looking for. The problem is, my keyboard is a 72 notes model ! It is therefore not possible to drive it directly with the outputs of the arduino, without multiplexing i think.