Milligram Scale - TARE button programming with HX711 & Nextion display

Good day all,

Going to start this off with the classic "I am new to Arduino", so there is still a lot to learn for me. To thus far I've managed to correct a lot of errors by working through numerous threads on this forum as well as others but I am currently baffled.

I am busy building a milligram scale with the end goal of measuring to 0.005g reliably. For the interface I am using a Nextion display to display the current weight rating. Once the unit is powered on the scale calibrates itself with a predefined calibration value and then tares the scale to zero. See below for the circuit construction.

I have also added a TARE button to the interface to manually zero the scale when required. The problem I am having is as CODE 1 is currently written, the TARE button only works when the button is pressed between the loop iterations, requiring me to continuously press the button until the timing is correct and it finally registers and zeros the scale. Am I correct in my statement about the press event only registering between loops?

CODE 1:
Below is the code I am currently using where the button must be pressed repeatedly until it finally registers:

// LIBRARIES REQUIRED:
#include <HX711_ADC.h>   //INCLUDE HX711_ADC LIBRARY FOR LOAD CELL
#include <EEPROM.h>     //INCLUDE EEPROM LIBRARY TO STORE DATA TO EEPROM
#include <Nextion.h>    //INCLUDE NEXTION LIBRARY TO WRITE DATA FROM ARDUINO > NEXTON

// PINS TO BE USED:
const int HX711_dout = 3; //UNO > HX711 DATA PIN
const int HX711_sck = 2; //UNO > HX711 CLK PIN

bool _tare = false;

//DEFINE OBJECTS TO BE USED ON NEXTION SCREEN
NexText textNumber = NexText(0,2,"textNumber"); // NexText(page number, object number, "object name")
NexButton buttonTare = NexButton(0,1,"buttonTare");
char buffer[10] = {0}; //CREATES A BUFFER TO HOLD THE TEXT

//REGISTER OBJECTS FOR NEXTION DISPLAY
NexTouch *nex_listen_list[] =
{
  &textNumber,
  &buttonTare,
  NULL
};