Milone etape liquid level sensor help

Hi,
I am an undergraduate working in a lab to build a liquid level sensor using the etape set up sold here:

I am not an EE major, so I am quite the beginner with this kind of thing. The housing cap of my model contains a precalibrated 0-5 V module, so I've wired the black pin directly to the ground of the arduino, the red pin to the 5 V arduino power supply, and the white to the first analog input.

(Black)-----(Arduino Gnd)
(Red)---- (Arduino 5 V power supply)
(White)----(A1)

When I execute the following code, the etape senses resistance changes above a certain value, which it tends to reach when about half full, but any more water released will not result in resistance changes beyond this point.

#define SERIES_RESISTOR     750    // Value of the series resistor in ohms.    
#define SENSOR_PIN          0 // Analog pin which is connected to the sensor. 

// The following are calibration values you can fill in to compute the volume of measured liquid.
// To find these values first start with no liquid present and record the resistance as the
// ZERO_VOLUME_RESISTANCE value.  Next fill the container with a known volume of liquid and record
// the sensor resistance (in ohms) as the CALIBRATION_RESISTANCE value, and the volume (which you've
// measured ahead of time) as CALIBRATION_VOLUME.
#define ZERO_VOLUME_RESISTANCE  12000  // Resistance value (in ohms) when no liquid is present.
#define CALIBRATION_RESISTANCE   7666.67  //nce value (in ohms) when liquid is at max line.
#define CALIBRATION_VOLUME        80 // Volume (in any units) when liquid is at max line.

void setup(void) {
 Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop(void) {
 // Measure sensor resistance.
 float resistance = readResistance(SENSOR_PIN, SERIES_RESISTOR);
 Serial.print("Resistance: "); 
 Serial.print(resistance);
 Serial.println(" ohms");
 // Map resistance to volume.