mini w/ usb: avrdude error

hi-
(absolute newbie here)
I can compile the installed “blink” script on the desktop just fine, and when I upload, the board tx/rx lights blink 4 x’s, but then the error message response is:

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x30
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

I don’t have any idea how to read this error. Is it my board work?

I’m using mac os 10.4.9, have assembled the mini with the usb adaptor according to arduino specs (or so I believe,) loaded the usb driver (intel) and arduino (intel.) When I plug in, my board gives two quick blinks on the tx/rx leds on the board. I’ve checked the wiring numerous times.

I have an LED that’s 1.8v (couldn’t find info on best kind to use in this instance) and have tried it on 13. I switched it to 9 (altered the script as well,) and used a 10k resistor as buffer. Neither way makes a change in the upload error response.

If there are any suggestions, particularly if they can point me in the direction of help docs (I’ve scoured the arduino site) I would really appreciate it.

• snax

Can you post a picture of the wiring? I know you said you checked it, but sometimes it’s good to get another pair of eyes.

If you leave the LED on pin 13, what does it do when you reset the board (or unplug and reconnect the USB cable)?

You might check the troubleshooting guide: http://www.arduino.cc/en/Guide/Troubleshooting, though I’m not sure any of it applies.

hi mellis-

i posted an image here: http://www.loreleipepi.com/snax-boardshot.jpg

I put the LED back to pin 13, tried again. The LED does not do anything. (new LED, tested w/ 9v battery.) I went through the troubleshooting docs backwards and forwards. Maybe seeing the picture will help...

• snax

Hmm... the wiring looks okay to me too. Maybe someone else will spot something though.