Minimal circuit to allow programming?

I'm trying to create a stand alone arduino based board and I started with this:-

http://www.oomlout.co.uk/component-bundle-for-arduino-compatible-arcb-p-227.html

The problem I have is trying to program it.

I have: An Arduino UNO An Olimex AVR-ISP500

I know there are issues with using the UNO, but I had more success with that method (I managed to get the error that the signature was wrong on the chip (which It will be if it's a 328pu and not a 328p )).

with the ISP500 though I could never get it to sync with the chip.

Can anyone guide me as to what is a bare minimum circuit to be able to program this chip with the ISP500 (I'd rather keep the UNO for experiments)?

I'm quite new to the hardware side of things, so the clearer / simpler the better :)

Thanks,

Anthony

If the hardware worked with the UNO, as long as your connections to the SPI bus and reset from the Olimex chip are correct, it should work.

Check if you need to power up the Olimex programmer, since I have no idea if it is powered from the USB.

Hi there, reading these two brief articles should give you the answer (and give you very useful working knowledge for the future!): 1) Standalone Arduino on Breadboard tutorial: http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard 2) AVR-ISP500 guide: http://www.olimex.com/dev/pdf/AVR/AVR-ISP500.pdf

I've dismantled it again:) I'll have another go, both those pages are what I used to make my breadboard, there are ground and 5v pins, I thought that in powered the chip, not that the board should power it.

I'll try again and take some photos if you guys don't mind having a look?

Thanks,

• Anthony

I’ve attached a picture of how it’s set up.

if I do burn bootloader w/ AVR ISP I get:-

avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51