Minimal cycle time for Uno

First ever post for me. I am building a capacitive discharge ignition (CDI) for my motorcycle which will incorporate an Arduino Uno into an existing CDI circuit. The arduino will just be the "heart beat" of the device. I'm just learning how to use the arduino and have been following the tutorials, etc. Finally got to several variations of my intended program and was dismayed to find that they all became unstable at around 3500 rpm engine speed. (signal generator input -- oscilloscope output) So I started putting microsecond timers in the program.

It seems that no matter what I do, the minimal loop() cycle time is around 32,000 usecs. I get that even when running an "empty program" with no code in it. That is too great a cycle time by at least a factor of four (or five). With an engine speed of around 7000 rpm I need to be able to have a max cycle time of around 8500 usecs.

Now, understand I don't know what I'm doing --- lol --- so I'm hoping someone can tell me that there is a much faster way of trying to get the Uno to run timing circles. Looking forward to any help in this matter. {{ or do I simply need a faster controller?}}

regards,

geo

the minimal loop() cycle time is around 32,000 usecs.

Don't see any code to support this claim .

Hopefully I did the upload correctly. If not, I'll try again. The simple program shows cycle times of right around 32,000 usecs on my Uno. If I'm doing something wrong, please advise.

geo

averagetiming06.ino (775 Bytes)

If I'm doing something wrong, please advise

You're not posting your code, so we don't know what you're doing.

Aways post code in code tags

//first attempt at a timing function with averaging
 //"time" is the raw time reading - in usecs.

int const PULSE = 2;                  // the input pin
 int unsigned long time = 0;               // the raw input time in usecs.
 int const LED = 13;                   // outputting to LED @ pin 13
 int unsigned long test = 0;

void setup()
 {