Minimalist Approach to 2 Digit 7 Segment

Hey all -

I want to count down using two 7 segment displays, like 20, 19, 18, 17...to 00, and then reset to 20 when I push a button.
I've been searching these forums and the internet for some good examples of doing this with the Arduino using the fewest pins possible. But most are the 4 digit variety and I don't know if that solution would be the same or if because I am using just 2 digits there is an even easier approach.

There seems to be a 1000 ways to do this, but because I am still rather new to this I don't know which approach would be best (use fewest pins possible, take up as little memory as possible).

Any general pointers?

Thanks!

Got 14 spare pins? Drive the 14 segments directly.
Otherwise, get 2 shift registers and let them drive the segments directly. Just need 3 pins.
Or 2, if you don't mind having the segments change (flicker) as you send data out.
Even saw a setup where the data pin was fed thru a capacitor from the clock pin, and with timing one could clock in a zero or 1.

I prefer sending data to shift registers via SPI.transfer() myself.

I drove a 4-segment display directly from the processor (like Crossroads suggested) using this circuit:

For two segments just omit the wires running to D3 and D4 (digits 3 and 4).

The code multiplexed the appropriate pins. More details here:

The Sparkfun 4-digit module goes one better, they've dropped the current-limiting resistors. :astonished:

Dodgy and gives uneven digits but it works as long as your MUXing doesn't stop.

Rob

Well I have a cunning plan ...

I am going to try to wire up a 4-digit display with 2 x 74HC595 (one on each side) in such a way that one is turned around 180 degrees. The idea is that one shift register will power the 6 pins on one side of the display, and the other register power the 6 pins on the other side. Basically without wires, because the tracks on the protoboard (or whatever it is called) will make the connections.