Minimum oscillator frequency for saving power in rf project

Hello everybody.

This time I am trying to make a wireless accelerometer transmitter working on batteries (it must have small power consumption). It is made of an Atmega328p, an NRF24L01 and a LIS3DH accelerometer.

For achieving low power consumption, I am setting both the nrf and lis in power down mode when they are not in use (my sampling rate is 100Hz). I am powering the uC directly form the batteries at 3.3V. However, my design is consuming around 2mA, and I would need to be under 1mA.

Reading the uC's datasheet I found that it would consume much less if I used its internal oscillator at 1MHz or 4MHz instead of the external 16MHz crystal I am using. My problem is: how can I know wether any of those frequencies is enought for my purpose?

Both peripherals are connected using SPI, with the default settings of their respective Arduino libraries (I am not an experienced programmer). My goal is to achieve 100Hz of sampling rate on the receiver.

What is the lowest oscillator frequency I should choose?

Thank you in advantage

Hi

SPI should be fine regardless of speed, unless you need to do something very quick with the data retrieved using code which will run slower, nut sPI will not be a problem.

The issue with the internal oscillators are they are not very accurate, this can make things difficult when connecting to other devices using something like serial, but with SPI the clock is pulsed by the 328p, so it doesn’t matter if things run a bit faster or slower as everything beats to that clock on the SPI bus.

Running slower however doesn’t really save power as everything just takes longer, and an external crystal compared to internal one isn’t a great difference.