Minimum voltage at the Vin pin of Uno

Hi all,

I just started playing around with Arduino and am making a thermostat that I'll power with a 9V battery (PP3 atm, I will likely switch to 6xAA) through the Vin pin . I will be using a DHT22 temperature/humidity sensor, a Nokia 5110 LCD (without backlight), a DS3231 RTC module and a relay. Perhaps in the future I'll swap the Uno for Nano 33 IoT for remote control.

At the moment it's just a temp sensor and LCD connected. I am measuring the battery voltage using an analog input and it's currently at around 8.9V, what should be the threshold at which I will need to change the batteries? Specification says Vin accepts 7-12V (6-20V maximum), would somewhere between 7V and 6V be my threshold then? Sorry about the simple question, I don't know much about electronics and couldn't find an answer online.

I want to display the battery level as percentage, 100% being 9V and 0% being whatever the minimum threshold I should aim for.

Any voltage input to the Vin pin should be over 7V* for the 5V to be able to regulate properly on a genuine Uno. It depends on the 5V regulator on others. Find the regulator part number and consult the data sheet. The specification to look for is drop out voltage for the regulator input.

There is a diode between the power jack and the regulator so the supply voltage through the power jack needs to be 0.6 - 0.7V higher.

*drop out on the MC33269D-5 regulator is max 1.35V (data sheet) so the it should regulate down to 6.35V but 7V gives a good margin.

Thank you for explanation and the link. It is a genuine Uno so I will set my minimum threshold to 7V. Unless there is some other/better way to determine battery life?