strftime(time_output, 30, "%H", localtime(&now));
  strftime(minute_output, 30, "%M", localtime(&now));
  currMinute = atoi(minute_output);
  return atoi(time_output);
}

the problem is that if I use the minute function on my LCD

lcd.print(currMinute);

it writes the minute without zero in front, like 18:4 instead of 18:04
and I need to use exactly 5 characters for time.

How can I make the code to show minutes with 0 in front, like 18:04 instead of 18:4?

You take the currMinute variable and if it is lower than 10 you print the char ‘0’ to the display before you print the currMinute variable.

Hello Grumpy_Mike, can you show me how can I do that?
I'm a beginner with Arduino and don't have a any coding knowledge.

Like this?

if (currMinute <10) {
lcd.print("0");

Something like:

if( currMinute < 10 )
    lcd.print( "0" );

lcd.print(currMinute);

Thank you!

If you are using a non Arduino.cc board/core it likely has printf() support built into the Print class as nearly all non Arduino.cc boards come with that support.

So if you have say an ESPxxx board you can then do real output formatting like

lcd.printf("%02d:%02d", hour, minute);

You don't need to jump through all the hoops to get the local hour and minute.
You also need to be using the other standard time functions to get the time to ensure you get the time properly.
Most importantly the way you are doing things is not atomic. i.e. it is possible that the time values you get are incorrect and off by an hour. For example should the time be just before an hour change. You might get the hour before the rollover and the minute after.
i.e. suppose the time is 10:59 (but nearly 11:00) you get the hour (10) and then the time changes to 11:00 and get the minute as (00)
So now you just grabbed the time as 10:00 when it was actually 10:59