Modbus programming help

Hello. I have a code to rotate a stepper motor that is constantly running. (one revoluton CW, one CCW).
I am trying to execute the code just when I press a button on an HMI that is connected to my Controllino Mega via ethernet.
I need help with the part of the code that reads the signal from the HMI.
I’m new to programming. Any help would be appreciated.

#include <SPI.h>
#include <Controllino.h>
#include <Ethernet.h>
#include "MgsModbus.h"
MgsModbus Mb;
const int pul = 46;  // pin 46 to PUL -
const int dir = 47;  // pin 47 to DIR -
void setup () 
 {

byte mac[] = {0x90, 0xA2, 0xDA, 0x0E, 0x94, 0xB5};
    IPAddress ip(10, 7, 4, 17);
    IPAddress gateway(10, 7, 4, 17);
    IPAddress subnet(255, 255, 255, 0);
    Ethernet.begin(mac, ip, gateway, subnet);
    delay(5000); // Time to open the terminal
    Serial.begin(9600);

pinMode (pul, OUTPUT); // 
    pinMode (dir, OUTPUT); // 
 }

void loop()
 {

Mb.MbsRun();

digitalWrite(dir, HIGH); //Writes the direction to the  DIR pin. (HIGH is clockwise).
  /*Turns the motor 400 steps*/
  for (int i = 0; i < 400; i++)
  {
    digitalWrite(pul, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(1000);
    digitalWrite(pul, LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(1000);
  }

delay(1000);
  digitalWrite(dir, LOW); //Writes the direction to the DIR pin. (LOW is counter clockwise).
/*Turns the motor 400 steps*/
  for (int i = 0; i < 400; i++)
  {
    digitalWrite(pul, HIGH);
    delayMicroseconds(1000);
    digitalWrite(pul, LOW);
    delayMicroseconds(1000);
  }

delay(1000);

}

Hey mate,

how does your Human Machine Interface look like? Is it just a button you can directly input to your arduino? Or is it an extra Part like a shield etc? Then maybe you require a library for it? Please provide more info about it.