Model Railroad Turntable Control - manual; possibly automated feasibility?

Model Railroad Turntable Control with a 6 wire stepper motor

I’m new to Arduino, but have some experience programming in dBase and more in Paradox (about 12 years).

I have a good strong 200 step 6 wire stepper from an old Epson dot matrix printer, and a timing belt that fits the 20 tooth cog. I have a couple other 20 tooth cogs, one to mount to the turntable drive shaft, and on to use as a spring-loaded tensioner.

For manual control I plan to have pushbuttons to select normal, slow or nudge (1/4 step) speed, and a spring loaded center off toggle to run in either CW or CCW rotation. Positioning would be by eye, like the prototype.

But I got to thinking that I could count the total 1/4 steps from some arbitrary reference point to each track position around the turntable, and enter them in an 18 element array (one for each stall, garden, o r enter/exit track plus the zero mark).

Zeroing in could be done by aligning the bridge to some arbitrary scratchmark; given the accuracy and reliability of timing belts like the one in question it shouldn’t have to be re-zeroed very often. Then the user would just select the button for the track you want the control shack end of the bridge to move to.

The control logic would choose the direction of rotation for the minimum number of 1/4 steps from the current location. Slowing to slow speed and then to nudge would be some number of 1/4 steps to be chosen by me on esthetic bases.

Welcome to the Forum. This sounds like a cool, fun project. Are you questioning the feasibility of using an Arduino for this project? - Scotty

Search this forum for previous posts. this is a cool idea.
I think the biggest point of concern is the final alignment. I seem to remember someone offering that a stepper that drives an alignment pin into a receiving pin will lock in a fixed and repeatable alignment.

one motor to get close, the second to make the alignment perfect.