Model Railway Control Board

Hi, Hope there is someone out there who can help me? I want to build a control box/board for my model railway layout. I have approximately seventy sets of turnouts which i want to control with multicolour l.e.d.s showing which route is set (i.e. red or green) i want to set the points/turnouts/uncouplers using momentary acting switches, to do this with standard electrics i would need at least one hundred and forty relays, so my question is can this be done with the Arduino system? I would also when i get to understand this more like to add signals and block occupancy settings to the layout as well. I am a complete beginner at this, but was an electrician for all my working life so i understand relay logic very well.

Hi, Welcome to the forum.

Hi, Hope there is someone out there who can help me? I want to build a control box/board for my model railway layout. I have approximately seventy sets of turnouts which i want to control with multicolour l.e.d.s showing which route is set (i.e. red or green) i want to set the points/turnouts/uncouplers using momentary acting switches, to do this with standard electrics i would need at least one hundred and forty relays, so my question is can this be done with the Arduino system? I would also when i get to understand this more like to add signals and block occupancy settings to the layout as well. I am a complete beginner at this, but was an electrician for all my working life so i understand relay logic very well.

Sorry but had to get it into point form to see what you had. Arduino will help you with your system, but the outputs are only 5V or 3.3Vlow current so MOSFET type interfacing will be needed if you don't want so many relays.

Have you googled arduino model railways railroads

There are quite a few sites that show methods to accomplish the type of control system you would like.

Hope this helps.. Tom.. :)