MODEL ROCKET LAUNCH SYSTEM

I am trying to figure out the best way to launch 8 model rockets (independently) from my RC warship using one of my remote control channels as the input to fire one rocket at a time when switched on and then move to the next rocket when switched off. I'm just starting out on this idea but would greatly appreciate any ideas you may have. Keep in mind I have never written any code in my life but do have a basic understanding about electrical circuits. I hope this is easy one.

The problem is... We don't know anything about your RC system. Or, are you building a completely new RC setup for the rockets?

...to fire one rocket at a time when switched on and then move to the next rocket when switched off.

Since (like a lot of projects) you're doing something unique, you'll have to figure out the details yourself.

For the software - Start by reading-through the [u]Arduino Language Reference[/u]. You won't understand all of it... You probably won't understand much of it... But, it will give you an idea of what you can to.

Then, work-through some of the [u]Examples[/u]. Everybody starts with the basic Blink LED example, and since it blinks the Arduino's built-in LED there is no additional hardware required.

The two most important concepts in programming are conditional execution (if statements, etc.) and loops (doing something over-and-over, usually until some condition is reached). Once you understand those concepts, you're on your way to understanding how to make a useful program.

What you want to do is fairly simple (if we ignore anything relating to remote control)... You simply need to make a looping counter that "counts-up" and triggers the next output every time the switch is activated.