Model Rocketry Braking System

Lately I've been trying to come up with a way to use airbrakes on a model rocket to reach a target altitude.
My goal is to feed out telemetry data from a PerfectFlite PNUT altimeter into an small and light weight Arduino. Then the Arduino would use a equation to determine the best time to deploy the airbrakes.
While being experienced with model rocketry, I am not very experienced with the Arduino side of things. Any guidance on how I would get the telemetry data to the Arduino and then how to control the servo that deploys the airbrakes via the Arduino would be helpful. Also, I don't really know what Arduino I should use, however I want one lightweight and small. It has to fit in a BT-70 tube (5.54 mm diameter)

Thanks!

There are no Arduinos that would fit into a 5.54mm diameter tube.

However you could easily fit one in a 55.4mm tube.

JohnLincoln:
There are no Arduinos that would fit into a 5.54mm diameter tube.

However you could easily fit one in a 55.4mm tube.

My bad. I meant centimeters.

so what Arduino system would you sue to accomplish this >

Arduino Nano or clone. Small and light, but a full-featured ATmega328, plug&play with your USB ports.
There are smaller and lighter versions (pro-mini, trinket, digispark, etc) but they are "special" enough that I wouldn't rate them as good a choice for an Arduino beginner. (needs external usb/serial cable, doesn't support Serial.print, doesn't match the majority of tutorials, etc...)

westfw:
Arduino Nano or clone. Small and light, but a full-featured ATmega328, plug&play with your USB ports.
There are smaller and lighter versions (pro-mini, trinket, digispark, etc) but they are "special" enough that I wouldn't rate them as good a choice for an Arduino beginner. (needs external usb/serial cable, doesn't support Serial.print, doesn't match the majority of tutorials, etc...)

Alright, thanks!
I'll be sure to look into this.