Moderating leaf blower air flow so that it reflects Met weather reports.

I am wanting to do a project where I connect an electric leaf blower up to a computer which moderates the airflow to represent Met weather reports from the web. So, allowing more or less air through depending on say, changes in temperature or something. I am a complete beginner and was wondering how possible/easy this would be and what the best way to go about it would be. Would be grateful for any help/advice!

Thanks! Beth

What power source does your leaf blower use?

I haven't brought on yet as wanted advice first on what kinda power source ect would be best.

What is the total goal of the blowing wind?

Its going to blow some fabric, it's part of an art project.

If its a small dc fan, maybe you can pwm a transistor to drive it the hardest part will probably be telling it the wind speed from the web once you have it you can set a range( say 0-25 mph) and map it to the anlog value(0-255) maybe an easier idea would be to make your own wind speed sensor on the outside and convey the data?

bmoonan-howard: I haven't brought on yet as wanted advice first on what kinda power source ect would be best.

Electric leaf blowers would probably be mains driven which means that electronic speed control is going to need a fair bit of technology. If you can lower your sights a bit to a low voltage DC fan then things get much easier. (All the leaf blowers I've seen have been hideously loud as well, and I imagine it'd take the shine off an arts project if the thing was so loud you couldn't hear yourself think.

okay yeah thats good advice, i could use a dc fan instead. but with regards to getting the windspeed it kinda has to be from the web because its part of the idea,

You might be able to use a light dimmer (600w) or tool speed controller to control the blower, which is turned via a servo. Use an arduino with ethernet shield to read RSS weather feeds to get wind speed.