Modify Prusa 3D printer firmware - something's gone wrong...

Hi,

First of all, I'm not a coder. However, I'm trying to customize the firmware for my Prusa 3D printer. The instructions on GitHub (GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware: Firmware for Original Prusa i3 3D printer by PrusaResearch) say to modify 'platform.txt' file which is part of the Arduino 1.6.9 installation. This apparently enables the printer to recognize and track the height of its vertical moving axis. Thing is, I have done as the instructions say and the printer doesn't show the height, only a ? where the numbers should be. I have taken this up with Prusa and they say it's something to do with the Arduino program, specifically the edited platform.txt document. So I've come here, seeking advice...

You can find more information at (second post from the bottom on page 1 and all page 2)

I would really appreciate any suggestions.

Fairfarren

Oh come on, is there no one who can contribute? Prusa has officially given up. Anyone? Please?

Ok, here is what happens... according to GitHub (GitHub - prusa3d/Prusa-Firmware: Firmware for Original Prusa i3 3D printer by PrusaResearch) if I edit 'platform.txt' belonging to Arduino by changing a line of code from
"compiler.c.elf.flags={compiler.warning_flags} -Os -Wl,--gc-sections" to
"compiler.c.elf.flags={compiler.warning_flags} -Os -Wl,-u, vfprintf -lprintf_flt lm - wl,--gc-sections" that will enable the printer firmware to recognoze the Z axis height.
Only it's not working. Axis height shows as "?" If I flash the printer with the original Prusa firmware, there is no problem. But when I use Arduino, even without changing ANY of the actual printer coding, the Z height reads "?", even though the code is written to the board successfully. Why does this happen and how do I fix it? What more information do you need?

Printer: Prusa MK3MMU2
Board: EINSy miniRAMBO
Software: Arduino 1.6.9