monitor 12 vdc automotive battery used to start backup generator

I have a Generac automatic standby generator which uses a 12 VDC automotive battery to initially start. I wish to use a Arduino board to monitor the status of this battery (monitor voltage and current draw) to determine whether or not the battery is failing and needs to be replaced.

First of all, I'm only an electronics hobbyist and would need probably need more "hand holding" than others. My ultimate goal is to successfully complete the project without damaging the Arduino.

I've done some internet research and determined that I would probably need an opto isolator such as the CNY17 as indicated in this http://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/43498/how-can-i-use-a-12-v-input-on-a-digital-arduino-pin. Also, to measure current, I would probably need Hall effect current sensor, like the Allegro ACS712ELCTR-30A-T referred to in this link http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,12870.0.html.

Thus, can anyone provide some detailed guidance and direction so that I don't "brick" my Arduino?

Thanx

I rely on a small diesel generator all the time and reliable starting is essential. I don't bother monitoring the start battery. They don't usually fail suddenly and anyway I have another battery that could probably start the engine if essential.

I do monitor the charging of my storage batteries because repeated discharging and charging shortens battery life. Starter batteries are normally fully charged all the time.

I don't think you will get any useful information by monitoring the huge current drawn by the starter motor - probably over 60 amps. The problem is that it only takes a few seconds to start an engine so the total amp-hrs consumed is negligible. The usual test for a failing starter battery is a high-current test which probably draws 200 to 300 amps and causes the voltage to drop and weak cells to bubble excessively.