Monitor Counting From 1-10

I know this may sound really easy to most of you, however, I am very new to this and have started this subject at my school halfway through the year and could really use some assistance.

I am simply trying to write a code that prints out on the monitor the numbers 1-10 in order using (i=i+1) or (i=++). I am not sure what these mean or where to even begin. Help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

i += 1;
Or
i = i + 1;
Or simply
i++;

Try not to think mathematically, because " i = i + 1" is clearly mathematically impossible.
Here, the equals sign is used as an assignment - the result of the expression on the right is assigned to the variable on the left.

So how would I get this to then print 1-10?

Put all your code in setup, and leave loop empty.
A simple for loop will do it.

This is what I did:

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
Serial.print ("i = ++");
}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:

}

and I get an error message when compiling saying:

Arduino: 1.8.13 (Mac OS X), Board: "Arduino Uno"

Sketch uses 1356 bytes (4%) of program storage space. Maximum is 32256 bytes.
Global variables use 192 bytes (9%) of dynamic memory, leaving 1856 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 2048 bytes.
Board at /dev/cu.usbmodem14101 is not available
Board at /dev/cu.usbmodem14101 is not available

This report would have more information with
"Show verbose output during compilation"
option enabled in File -> Preferences.

Yes, the message is saying your code is syntactically correct (it won’t do what you want, but the compiler doesn’t know what you want - you maybe missed my hint about a for loop), but that for some reason, your Mac can’t talk to your Uno.

I don’t own a Mac, so can’t help you with that.