Monitoring analog Carrera GO!!! slot car racetrack and showing data realtime.

Well hello there.
I've been looking into building some sort of monitoring solution for our analog slot car racetrack. It's an old one, but we have quite a good amount of track pieces. So it would be nice if there was a more digital way to monitor it without buying a whole new system. That could be very expensive if we wanted to get exactly the same setup.

After some research on various forums, I've become more and more certain that Arduino could be the solution to our needs. But not all the wanted features have I managed to see been done. So I'm asking her to see if anyone could shed some light on the whole thing.

First of all, I've never used one of these boards before, so I have a couple of question before I purchase one:
What board, and what other parts do we need in order to complete this project? And of course, would it be worth it - money wise?

It may look like I'm requiring a lot here, but I think it's not that much after all when you're done reading through.
The last part (Checkpoints), at the bottom, is something I would like to add in the future. So whatever board I'm settling for now must be able to handle that as well - if possible - when the time comes...

I'm now going to try to explain what we want to accomplish, along whit my understanding of how it might be done...

Sensors:
On the hand controller:

• Reaction time (measure the delay after start untill the controller is pushed).

On the track:

• Lap counter (when there's a change in circuit (this is one circuit change: default state > different state when car passes > back to default state), it's one lap count).
  • Lap timer (the time between each change).
  • speed detection when passing the lap counter/timer, and, if activated, at each checkpoint as well* (measuring the length of one circuit change).

Other stuff:

• Physical lights on countdown (think I saw uno board had a couple of pins for that somewhere).