monitoring fan rotation while keeping main loop close to real time

Hi Everybody,

I’m building up an RF power amplifier for a ham radio repeater. Instead of using conventional logic to monitor the “health” of the system (fan speed and heatsink temperature), I though I would press an Arduino into service. I am an Arduino newbie and have only attempted simple sketches so far. I more of a hardware person than software!

There is a 5V trigger in from the radio transmitter controlling an NPN transistor, open collector output to input pin 4 (pttin). Output on pin 3 to make the amplifier operate is an NPN/PNP pair to switch 12V (pttout) to the amplifier.

The overtemp is a simple digital input from a thermal switch mounted on the heatsink. When the temp rises past the switch threshold, it sets digitalRead(temp) LOW and this will stop the amplifier from operating. This the basic code, I hope to add other enhancements that will latch outputs connected to LEDs to indicate that over temp or fan fail have occurred.

void loop() {
  if (digitalRead(pttin) == LOW && digitalRead(temp) == HIGH)
  {
  digitalWrite(pttout, HIGH);   // Pin 3 on 
  digitalWrite(ind, HIGH);   // PTT LED on
  }
  else
  {
  digitalWrite(pttout, LOW);    // Pin 3 off 
  digitalWrite(ind, LOW);    // PTT LED off
  }

My question is about how to monitor fan rotation while still maintaining a near “real time” operation of the main loop.

Most of the example sketches I have found that read the hall pulse output from fans use interrupts and need to have a delay to calculate the fan speed over a period of time. While this is happening, the main loop is not doing its “thing”.

What is the best programming approach in this situation… I don’t really need to know the fans RPM, maybe just a fan fail value set HIGH if the RPM falls below a set value, I could then add a third IF condition. I need to have a minimal impact of reading fan speed on the loop.

I am open to suggestions on how to code this.

Michael.