More elegant digit isolation from multiple-digit number?

Hey,

beginner here.

The good news: My code is working fine. My question is only about how to streamline it.

I want to isolate the digits from a multiple-digit number. So far, I do it like this:

long C = [number with many digits here];
int D1 = C / 100000000 % 10;
int D2 = C / 10000000 % 10;
int DY = C / 10 % 10;
int DZ = C % 10;

While this works, I don't think it is very efficient. The huge divisions have to be done all over again. It should be much more efficient to start from the end, i.e. remember the result for the first division by 10, then in the next step divide that result by 10 again and so on. The dividend would become gradually smaller, and the divisor would be smaller, too (10). Any suggestions on how to implement all this most elegant/abstract/intelligent?

What do you want, efficiency (speed and/or compiled code size) or elegance (readability, conciseness, maintainability etc.)? Usually there is some trade off, it's unusual to target both at the same time.

Have you tried coding the method that you describe?

if your concerned about the complexity of a division by a constant, you can easily do the same with multiplication -- multiple by 0.1

gcjr:
if your concerned about the complexity of a division by a constant, you can easily do the same with multiplication -- multiple by 0.1

What is the value of introducing the slowness and round off errors of floating point math when you can do the whole thing in integer math?

Hey,

am beginner.

My code is working fine, so this is just about finding the most streamlined approach.

I want to send a multiple-digit number to arduino via serial and dismante it into individual digits (and subsequently perform some math on the individual digits).

So far, I parse the multiple-digit number to an int, and use division and modulo on it to isolate the digits. Which works, but seems very bulky.