MOSFET and 3.3v switching

Hi forum

I’m new to electronics......but enjoy it. I’ve played around with N mosfets and 5V arduino’s with great success. I’m trying to get it right with a 3.3v microcontroller and having issues understanding it.

I would like to do it with as little components as possible. The load is 1A at a voltage of 24V. When I try select a mosfet for the job I am concerned the Vgth won’t be enough or the Vgs max is too close to the maximum. Maybe I’m over thinking it. Anyone help out with a suggested circuit? (Trying to avoid using a transistor on the gate.....but happy to hear a suggestion if it’s the only way)

Regards

The most useful parameter to look at for a MOSFET is the voltage that Rds(on) is specified at. If it gives a resistance at 3V or less then it's good for a 3.3.V Arduino.

Then you'll see that the threshold voltage is probably a maximum of about 2V. But since Vgs(th) is the voltage the MOSFET just STARTS to conduct it's not a very useful parameter.

Steve

The threshold voltage is of no use to you, ignore it.

You need a MOSFET that works with only 3V of gate drive, which means in the datasheet there is an on-resistance quoted for Vgs <= 3.0V

Nearly all such MOSFETs are surface mount, as 3.3V logic appeared after SMT become standard, and no-one
could sell through-hole 3V capable MOSFETs. DPAK SMT packaged MOSFETs are fairly simple to solder direct
to stripboard or similar, note.

For any high power use you use a gate-driver chip and a 12V MOSFET. Gate driver chips accept 3 or 5V logic
inputs.

So you could go down this route, pick a TO220 MOSFET and a gate-driver chip. You’ll need a 12V supply
rail though.

Another approach is use a darlington transistor instead, with a 560 ohm base resistor or so - for a 24V load
the voltage drop across a Darlington is not a big deal - the darlington will get hot though at 1A, needing a
small heatsink, typically.