Mosfet Temp at high PWM frequencies

hi-

as you can see i'm new to this forum. as you will soon find out i am also new to arduino projects. :slight_smile:

i am using a mosfet to regulate voltage to a solenoid. i need to be able to vary the intensity of the force of the solenoid. the solenoid operation needs to be silent. using a pwm frequency of 62500.00 Hz keeps the solenoid silent, however it causes an extreme amount of heat in the mosfet. the circuit looks like this:

only change is i'm using an N-Channel mosfet in place of the TIP-120. and i'm using pin 6 instead of 9 to get the higher frequency.

can someone share a better way to solve this?

thank you!

Use a bigger fet or put a heatsink on it?

dannydunlap:
only change is i'm using an N-Channel mosfet in place of the TIP-120. and i'm using pin 6 instead of 9 to get the higher frequency.

Please don't show schematics for components you don't have. I got as far as loading up a datasheet for the TIP120 before I re-read what you wrote. A pencil sketch photographed with a phone is better than that pretty F**ing diagram.

2.2K might be the correct resistor for a TIP120 but it isn't correct for a MOSFET. Take it out and see how it performs.

Hi Dannydunlop.

What FET are you using and what current does the solenoid take. You may not have enough gate voltage,

Dead_Ard

When a MOSFET is off, it dissipates no power.
When it is fully turned on it only dissipates low power.

However when you switch it from off to on (or vice versa), it goes through a linear region where it dissipates much higher power.

By using a PWM frequency of 62.5kHz, you are causing it to spend more time in the high dissipation state, hence it gets hot.

You can get around this by making the MOSFET switch faster, by using a MOSFET driver such as the TC4420. - datasheet here.

Most probably you are not using a Logic Level FET, so that it won't turn fully on with a 5V gate signal. It's easy to kill every FET this way :frowning: