MOSFETs to switch/cut-off 10000V

Hello from Spain,
I am an arduino newbie and this is one of my first proyects. I need a way to make a switch which can cut down a high-voltage line which is connected to one of the arduino pins, the line is usually off but it can go on at some times and I want to protect the arduino from this high voltage. The voltage I want to switch (i.e protect the arduino from spikes that would occassionally go into one of the digital pins) is a pulsed one with this maximum characteristics:
max voltage= 10000v
duration of each spike= 0.05 secs
Maximum charge per pulse= 2.5 mili coulombs
maximum energy per pulse = 5 joules
maximum current peak= 10amps

I've heard that you can use several MOSFETS in conjuction to be able to switch these high voltages but no further information or circuit drawings on how to set it up. Maybe mechanical relay would be another solution but I like the MOSFETs because the power consumption would be lower and that is an issue in my project.
Thanks in advance
Angel

Will the Arduino be connected to a computer?

no, it will be powered by a battery

You'll be hard pressed to find anything solid state to handle that kind of voltage commercially at a reasonable price.

A research company has recently developed a 12kV IGBT, but I dread to think what the cost would be to try and get hold of one.

Most commercially available devices top out at just over a kilovolt.

And no, you can't use multiple MOSFETs together to magically make them higher voltage. You can parallel them up to increase the current handling capacity, but not the voltage, and you can use lower voltage MOSFETs (or BJTs) to drive higher voltage MOSFETs, but the "end" MOSFET still has to be able to individually cope with the voltage across it.

What exactly is the project, and what are you attempting to do that requires such high voltages? Maybe there's a better way of doing what you want.

maybe make a BIG mechanical switch with a servo?