Mosfets...WHOA

OK, Thank you for reading first and foremost. I am a newbie at all of this electronics and arudino, but I am very interested and have a lot to learn.

I am trying to use a mosfet for a project, 12v light bar...another post if your interested.

I am having difficulty understanding how I go about determining what mosfet I need to use.

I know there is drain, source, and gate. My arudino would be connected to the gate, to turn the mosfet on and off. Source is battery, drain is the light....

my question is this. Arudio pin has 40mA out and 5v max.

My Lightbar draws about 2A per light at 12v.

I have read that even though the Arudino has 40mA/5v the mosfet/light could potentially make it provide more and damage it? Draw more then it can handle? I surmize this is controlled by a resistor on the pin.

so my questions.

how do i take all of this information and figure out my numbers?

1. Protect the arduino (already fried one), how do i determine the right resistor to use? to little and its moot, to much and the light will suffer or mosfet won't trigger?

2. Mosfet, how do i determine what mosfter I need? how much does the gate need to activate?

My general idea is thus:

gate needs to be around 3v (don't wanna make it max at 5v) and less then 40mA? source needs to handle 12v as that is what power source is at.

is this correct? any ideas? WHERE CAN I GO LEARN IT.

I am struggling online trying to understand, i think I may be trying to run before I learn to crawl. I have done some ohms law on it, but my numbers resulted in my arudino frying.

Thanks for the read.

You need to use a N-channel "Logic level" FET. The source is grounded, the drain to the negative of the light bar and the positive of the light bar to your +12 V.

The gate is fed from an Arduino output by a 470 Ohm resistor. You put a 10k resistor between the same Arduino output and ground to keep the FET switched off until the Arduino boots and defines its output.