Most sketches don't work

Hello, I have been a member for a while but I think this is my first post so I apologize if this question has been asked and answered before but I have not been able to find it.

First let me say that I have playing with Arduino's (off and on) for over a year. I am not new to these and I am not a pro at using these but I do understand about and how to install libraries.

Why when I download most sketches for any of my Arduino boards (originals, clones or copies) I get a message that I can not download to that specific board even if I click on the correct board or if I click on every board in the list.

Also why does most every available sketch out there not work, I keep getting all kinds of error messages, sometimes as many as 20 error messages. Am I the only one out there who does not know how to write a sketch. I have seen some great code and projects out there that I would love to be able to duplicate but over 95% of the sketches I have tried are full of errors and I am incapable of learning how to write this stuff. I have literally wasted hundreds of hours downloading and failing.

Am I doing something wrong or is everyone else out there doing something wrong?

Just for the record I am using the Arduino ide 1.6.13

Any help or helpful comments would be greatly appreciated because I am getting a little tired of wasting a lot of time and money just to have nothing work.

Thank you
Jim

I have never experienced anything like that without very solid reason, despite the fact that I always order the cheapest offer on Aliexpress and mainly work on ESP8266, which is not the usually expected ATMEGA micro controller.

Without an error message, nobody can do anything for you. Concentrate on one example, post proper error messages and I am sure the probelm will be resolved fast.

The only simple thing I could think of is that you did not install libraries properly.