Motherboard/CPU As Microcontroller?

Hello.

I was wondering if it's possible to use an old motherboard/cpu as a microcontroller in a robot? It would be acting as an electronic speed controller. I realize it would be far more power hungry than the Arduino or other prototyping platform. I plan on using the Arduino because I've used it before and I really like it, but I was just curious if it was at all possible to use an old mobo/cpu to perform the same function? Is there some sort of PCI card or something that one could install?

Thank You.

Sure, could me made to work.

CPU is not a uC tho - CPUs generally need external RAM and PROM for program storage.

If have a Mobo, can install an ISA or PCI experimenters board, add in the needed address/data recognition hardware, and then build your electronics up there.

Or maybe control things using signals from the parallel port.

Thank you, CrossRoads. I know it was somewhat of a ridiculous question, but I'm somewhat new to all of this right now. I used the Arduino only once to control some LEDs and that was, well, fun to say the least. I had no clue what I was doing but I got it done - eventually.

Thanks again.

without getting into cards and using the system bus (which may be a bit trickier with pci) you can get 8 basic 5 volt I/O's out of the printer port, and maybe another 4 out of each serial port

Yeah... The big problem is I/0. You generally need an operating system, and Windows (and I think Linux too) prevents user mode applications from directly accessing the hardware. You need to use a kernel mode driver, and driver development is a specialty area that's normally done by experts.

The drivers for printer and serial ports are included with Windows, as well as USB drivers for some standard hardware like USB keyboards & USB soundcards. But, this probably doesn't give you enough "direct" I/O for a robot.