Motion sensitive light project

Hi guys,

I'm planning on making a simple project - an LED strip that fades in/out by waving your hand over the sensor/movement.
Unfortunately, even though it's simple, I have very little knowledge about these sorts of things, and could really use some help!

Parts I have so far:
-An Arduino Uno
-A Freetronics light sensor Light Sensor Module | Freetronics). I know this isn't really a motion sensor, but it can detect a hand waving over it, so that's fine.
-An LED light strip (12V) http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=ZD0461
-A 9V battery clip, 2.1mm plug and battery.

The guy at the shop I bought most of this stuff from said that that's all I should need, but I'm not entirely convinced.

What else do I need...and more importantly, how do I put it all together?

Thanks!

Edit:

Also, if I wanted 2 LED strips, how would I add these on? They would be behaving the same.

You will need some transistor to turn the LED strip on/off - your strip will draw 200mA, too much to drive from the Arduino pin direct, and they need 12V (Your 9V battry might make them turn on, but they will not shine)

The sensor will detect light level, not motion. In other words it will not see the differnece between you waving from right to left or left to right. Turning the light off/on in the room will also seem like "a hand waving". If that is OK for you, fine. Alternatives is to use a distance sensor, they can both be optical or ultrasonic.

If you want more strips to behave identically, just wire them up in parallel. (Your transistor may need to be be bigger. Or wire one transistor to each strip and then drive them from the same Arduino pin. If you have pins to spare, use one pin to each and in the sketch do the same to all pins.

Msquare:
You will need some transistor to turn the LED strip on/off - your strip will draw 200mA, too much to drive from the Arduino pin direct, and they need 12V (Your 9V battry might make them turn on, but they will not shine)