Motor PID control

I want to use PID to control motor speed. The motor I have has an opto-interrupter that gives six pulses per revolution. The problem I've been running into is how to sample the pulses. I've tried interrupts and the pulseIn function but didn't get great results. I want to use it as a tachometer calibrator, so the RPM needs to be stable and repeatable.

The interrupt method I used counted pulses for the duration it took to run the code. My issue with this is it seems like if the PID function took longer or shorter to calculate, the pulse count would be off because it would be accumulating longer.

I just wasn't able to get pulseIn to work. I'm a novice and new to this sort of thing.

What would you guys recommend for measuring the frequency of the motor? I want to run it up to 2000 RPM, so it should be able to measure 200 pulses per second. In the past I've seen some code that measured the time interval between pulses, would this be feasible for this application?

Sorry I can't post the code I was using for the interrupt method, it was straight out of a Magazine and I don't want to cause any copyright infringements. The code I was trying for the pulseIn function was straight from the PID playground page.
http://www.arduino.cc/playground/Code/PIDLibrary

Thanks for your help,

Here's a similar thread...

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1258765801/9#9

Read that and then post back here and we can discuss. These arduino-mechanical projects are interesting to me so I'll be more than happy to offer some help.

Allright, sorry it took so long. I looked at the code from the page you mentioned, and it looks good but I can't get it to work with the motor. I think the pulses are too close together for it to measure properly. At full speed, the input is about 1kHz with six pulses per rev, so 10000RPM (Input/6*60). The code I used, straight from the other site with corrections, is as follows.