Motor programming

Hey there. I am very new to Arduino and to programming in general, so I don't know how to solve my problem and I am struggling with it for over a month.

This is the basic set up. I have a old RC car base with two motors ( A for steering, B for forward or reverse drive). Connected to motors Arduino UNO with Arduino motor shield and HC06 bluetooth module. Everything is powered with two 9volt batteries. Now I cant get the car to run with my code, I have made the simple app in appbuilder, which pairs with arduino, and from my phone i can send commands like "forward","reverse" and so on.

Now how do I get motors to work, from coding stand point of view (because circuitry work fine)?

The problem is, when i send command from my phone, the motor starts to spin, and when i change direction it stops, and does not react to commands anymore.

Can you guys explain whats wrong with my code? Also could it be a problem with android side of code?

char val;         // variable to receive data from the serial port
String readString;

void setup(){

//Setup Channel A
  pinMode(12, OUTPUT); //Initiates Motor Channel A pin
  pinMode(9, OUTPUT); //A brake

//Setup Channel B
  pinMode(13, OUTPUT); //Initiates Motor Channel B pin
  pinMode(8, OUTPUT);  //Initiates Brake Channel B pin

Serial.begin(9600);      

}

void loop() {

while( Serial.available()){
   delay(1);
    char c = Serial.read();         // read it and store it in 'c'
   readString +=c;
  }

if (readString.length() >0) {
        //stop
     digitalWrite(9, HIGH);
     digitalWrite(8,HIGH);

if (readString == "forward"){
       digitalWrite(13, HIGH); //Establishes forward direction of Channel B
       digitalWrite(8, LOW);   //Disengage the Brake for Channel B
       analogWrite(11, 255);   //Spins the motor on Channel B at full speed
       delay (1000); 

digitalWrite(8, HIGH);   //Engage the Brake for Channel B

}

if(readString == "reverse" ){