Motor Shield R3 Power Supply problem

Hello Guys,

I would like to built a fluidic pump using a bipolar stepper motor that will move a syringe back and forth. I am using Arduino Leonardo with a Motor Shield R3.

I have found a sketch that makes what I need and, when the motor is plugged on the USB PC, it works just fine.

But when I connect to an external power supply I connected the Negative cable to Grn and the positive to Vin.), it starts to do things that are not written in the sketch (different parameters, not able to move backwards and so on.

I wish someone could kindly give me some hints about this problem. Since I am new with Arduino, easily it might be some stupid mistake.

I thank you in advance.

Francesco Reddavide

P.S.: I attach the code I am using

#include <Stepper.h>

const int stepsPerRevolution = 200;  // change this to fit the number of steps per revolution
                          // for your motor
char n = 0;
// initialize the stepper library on the motor shield
Stepper myStepper(stepsPerRevolution, 12,13);     

// give the motor control pins names:
const int pwmA = 3;
const int pwmB = 11;
const int brakeA = 9;
const int brakeB = 8;
const int dirA = 12;
const int dirB = 13;

int x = 0;
void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
// set the PWM and brake pins so that the direction pins  // can be used to control the motor:
pinMode(pwmA, OUTPUT);
pinMode(pwmB, OUTPUT);
pinMode(brakeA, OUTPUT);
pinMode(brakeB, OUTPUT);
digitalWrite(pwmA, HIGH);
digitalWrite(pwmB, HIGH);
digitalWrite(brakeA, LOW);
digitalWrite(brakeB, LOW);

// initialize the serial port:
Serial.begin(9600);
// set the motor speed (for multiple steps only):
//myStepper.setSpeed(10);
}

void loop(){
  while (n < 10)
  {
  myStepper.setSpeed(10);
  myStepper.step(50);
  delay(3000);
  myStepper.setSpeed(10);
  myStepper.step(-50);
  delay(3000);

n = n++ ;
  }
}

Hi, welcome to the forum.

The Motor Shield R3 :