Motors cant go in the other direction with this code

Hey guys,

so I’m really new to this aduino stuff. Like one month or so I’m playing around with motors and sensors.
Right now I’m working on a project where i put 2 Stepper Motors in both upper corners of a whiteboard. Attached to both (with strings) is some kind of pencil holder.
So with that i can control the position of the pencil on the board with the length of the wires by rotating the steppers.

I had one version before wich worked good, the problem was the speed of the motors, it was just way to slow, so i wrote a new code wich is aswell much shorter.

My idea is the following :
i have a simple analog-Stick , I set the position of the pecil to a certain position on the board and if i move the analogstick down, the pencil will go down aswell. If i move it back up, the pencil will do that aswell.

My problem is : the Steppers just turn in one direction with this version of the code. dor example : i push the stick down, and both motors turn clockwise because both have to loosen the wire. But if i go back up, nothing happens. Same if i go to left or right. for a left movement the left motor needs to spin in the direction to tighten the wire and the riight one needs to lose it in the same moment.
But both of the motors are just able to spin in one of the directions.

So the first thing that comes in mind is, that the direction pin is just not set correctly or the code wont even get to the point . ( I use an a4988 driver to run the steppers, there are 3 pins to control it: en for anabling, dir for direction control , and step, wich u turn on and off to do a full step.)
so the code is definetly getting to the point where it should change the direction (Serial monitor shows the print that should be printed when in the line below)

I calculate the amount of steps each motos has to do when moving the stick, so i thought that might be the next failure, but that seems to be correct aswell.