Mouse input, game pad output. Which board is best?

Hi all,

I’ve been searching Google and the forums for days, and I know the answer must be out there, but I must be searching for the wrong thing or not understanding the answers or something.

I’m a programmer, but an Arduino noob, so I’m enjoying Arduino coding, but I’m not great understanding the different boards, libraries and shields etc.

I want to plug a modern usb mouse in to a board, capture its X and Y, manipulate the data and then send the manipulated data to a PC, as if it’s the left stick of a game pad.

So my questions are:

1. Is there a board that accepts standard USB mouse input. If so, which board and which library would give me a simple X & Y of what the mouse is doing, (buttons not necessary at this time). If not “just” a board, perhaps there’s a best board, shield, library combo to achieve the goal?
  2. Assuming I can then get my coding hands dirty, can I use the same board to output to PC as a game pad? Does this change the board I would require?

I don’t mind using multiple boards if it gets the job done.

Hmph. Sounds like I want you to figure out my project for me, but really any help at this point would be so gratefully received.

Best to all, Steve

For mouse input..

Maybe look into using a USB Host shield.

For sending HID (human input device) commands to a PC...

Maybe look into a:

• Leonardo
  • Micro
  • Pro-Micro..

I havent messed with the mouse stuff in a while.. but years back.. there was some limit (on default libraries) that only allowed mouse movements in certain/limited increments... kinda fuzzy as this was a while back.

A more compact solution is a Teensy 3.6 or Teensy 4.1. Both have 1 USB host port (connect to USB mouse) and 1 USB device port (connect to PC). Teensy boards work with the Arduino IDE.

Thanks both for the replies.

So feasible then... that’s great news. More and more, I was seeing that Arduino wasn’t capable.