Mouser product "Pressure" sensor voltage and the Arduino board?

Hi. I’m new to building circuits, so please pardon me in advance if this is a dumb question. I’d like to have the chip at the following URL work with the Arduino board.

http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/302/MPX2202-783559.pdf

Page 3 of this PDF says in has (or needs) a voltage of 10 with a max of 16. The Arduino board has a 5v output.

Does anyone have suggestions on how this chip might work with the Arduino board? Or, if not, can you suggest another approach?

Thank you,
Ed

That one needs a high supply voltage (10volt), and is not amplified (40mV span). It needs supporting circuitry (instrumentation opamp, etc.). The same sensors are also available for a 5volt supply, with inbuild instrumentation amp. They have a ratiometric output voltage between ~0.3 and 4.7volt, that can be read directly by the Arduino. I think the part number of that series starts with a "5" (MPX5xxxx). Leo..

Hi Leo,

Great tip.

I looked at the 5 volt sensor (MPX5050GP) and they measure a pressure of 0 to 50 kPa. My application requires 0 to 100 kPa. The chip I've been looking at measures 0 to 200 kPa.

If I took three 3.3 volt coin batteries and taped them together with a positive and negative (ground) lead coming out of the top and the bottom, would this give me the 10 volts I need for this sensor? I'd plug the other ends of the positive and negative leads directly into the breadboard. I'm not looking for something industrial strength initially... I'm more into a proof of concept activity. Assuming this would work at all, what's the downside to doing this?

Thank you, Ed

There are a lot of those sensors with inbuild amp. Google "MPX5100". Make sure you get the right one (gauge, absolute, differential).